Our Governing Body consists of 11:

Trustees consist of no more than one third staff.

Click here for annual reports and accounts

The Governors of Dorrington Academy volunteer to ensure that we provide the best provision for the pupils of Dorrington. The Governing Body include the Headteacher, teaching staff, parents, local authority appointees and members of the community.

The Governing Body meets as a whole every term unless an extra meeting is required to address urgent business. The Governing Body delegates responsibility to a series of committees which conduct the business of the Governing Body.

Click here for annual register of interest

Governing Body Committees

  • Finance & Building
  • Staffing
  • Curriculum
  • Exclusions
  • Health & Safety
  • Pay & Grading / Performance Management
  • Disciplinary
  • Appeals
  • Performance Management Headteacher

In addition to these committees we also have Governing Body School Improvement Plan monitoring groups. These consist of the following,

  • Teaching and Learning
  • Pupil Premium
  • Sports Premium
  • Financial Monitoring Group
  • Leadership & Management
  • The Learning Environment

All the committees and monitoring groups assist the Headteacher to carry out statutory obligations and support in leading and managing Dorrington Academy to achieve its vision. Without doubt the Governing Body of Dorrington Academy are committed to being accountable. They have a passion for ensuring they keep themselves not only updated with current legislation and initiatives, but make the time to be in school supporting and monitoring achievement.

Governors can be contacted through the school.

Governing body committees 2020-21

Governing body meetings 2020-21

Head Teacher

Miss L Barratt

Chair of Governors

Mr K Hyem

Vice-Chair of Governors

Mrs J Hamilton-White

SEN Governor

Mr J Harrison

Sports Funding Governor

Mr K Hyem

Child Protection / Safeguarding

Mr J Harrison

Health & Safety

Miss D Cox

Pupil Premium

Miss D Cox

Clerk to Governing Body

Mr S Taylor

Staff Governors

Miss L Barratt

Mr J Harrison

Miss D Cox

Community Governors

Mr K Hyem

Mrs J Hamilton-White

Mrs S Ogidih

Mr F Khuhro

Mr S Haynes

Parent Governors

Miss D Nagy

Mr J Bhohi

Upcoming Events

Events Calendar

20th May, 2024

KS1 SATs Week

24th May, 2024

Summer 1 Ends

3rd June, 2024

Summer 2 Starts
gold logo 2015-16
quality mark logo
Unicef Silver Award
one education reading award logo
music mark logo